Center for Innovative Medical Models

Breadcrumb Navigation


Carl-Gustav Groth Xeno Prize for Arne Hinrichs and Evamaria Riedel


This prize of US $7,000 is jointly sponsored by the International Xenotransplantation Association (IXA) and the publisher of Xenotransplantation (Wiley). The Xeno Prize is awarded to the first author(s) of the best paper published in the journal Xenotransplantation each calendar year. The Xeno Prize is named after the past-Editor-in-Chief, Dr. Carl-Gustav Groth, who initiated the idea of the prize and finalized the funding between IXA and the publisher. Dr. Groth was also the Founding President of IXA. In addition, he has immensely contributed to the field of xenotransplantation through pioneering research and clinical investigation. The Xeno Prize for the best paper in 2020 was awarded to Dr. Arne Hinrichs and Evamaria Riedel who share the first authorship of the paper
Hinrichs A, Riedel EO, Klymiuk N, Blutke A, Kemter E, Längin M, Dahlhoff M, Keßler B, Kurome M, Zakhartchenko V, Jemiller EM, Ayares D, Bidlingmaier M, Flenkenthaler F, HrabÄ• de Angelis M, Arnold GJ, Reichart B, Fröhlich T, Wolf E. Growth hormone receptor knockout to reduce the size of donor pigs for preclinical xenotransplantation studies. Xenotransplantation. 2021 Mar;28(2):e12664. doi: 10.1111/xen.12664. Epub 2020 Nov 25.
The Xeno Prize was awarded during the Business Meeting of the Virtual 2021 IXA-CTRMS Congress (23.-25.09.2021).

doi: 10.1111/xen.12664